A Handful of Striking Literature Quotes

While reading, there have been certain strings of words that have made me pause for a second with a sense of awe. Books that deliver such moments stay with me after I’ve finished them, and are some of my favourites.

The following small handful of quotations are some lines that I found particularly beautiful.

maya

“You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.”
― Letter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou

book thief

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race – that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.”
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

tumblr_mlupe5pYnX1qaagyho1_500

“Once upon a time there was a boy who loved a girl, and her laughter was a question he wanted to spend his whole life answering.”
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss

moby

“I know not all that may be coming, but be what it will,
I’ll go to it laughing.”
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

heart

“I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart. I am, I am, I am.”
The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Featured image: credit
Featured artwork: credit for the first, second, third, fourth and fifth image
Leave a Reply

